2015 Iowa Series Dates

Start training. In 2015 the Iowa Mountain Bike Championship Series returns to ten turns it up to eleven races!

We will be revisiting all of 2014’s venues: Illiniwek Abermination, Seven Oaks, FORC Side Thrill Ride, George Wyth MTB Race, Sugar Bottom Scramble, Summerset Shootout, and The Mullet Fall Classic. We have two new locations: Ewing Park and Center Trails in Des Moines. And Beverly Park in Cedar Rapids is returning after a two-year hiatus.

Update 12/15/2014: The Ewing race has changed date since the first announcement, and the additional June race we hinted at earlier has been confirmed. The list below has been updated and renumbered to reflect these changes.

IMBCS #1 Illiniwek Abermination
Illiniwek Forest Preserve
Hampton, Illinois
Sunday, April 19, 2015

IMBCS #2 Beverly Fat Tire Frenzy
Beverly Park
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Sunday, May 3, 2015

IMBCS #3 Seven Oaks
Seven Oaks Recreation
Boone, Iowa
Sunday, May 31, 2015

IMBCS #4 Ewing Park
Ewing Park
Des Moines, Iowa
Sunday, June 21, 2015

IMBCS #5 Iowa Games Mountain Bike Race
Petersen Pits
Ames, Iowa
Sunday, June 28, 2015

IMBCS #6 FORC Side Thrill Ride
Sunderbruch Park
Davenport, Iowa
Sunday, July 12, 2015

IMBCS #7 Hin und Zurück TT
Center Trails
Des Moines, Iowa
Saturday, August 8, 2015

IMBCS #8 George Wyth MTB Race
George Wyth State Park
Waterloo, Iowa
Sunday, August 16, 2015

IMBCS #9 Sugar Bottom Scramble
Sugar Bottom Recreational Area, Coralville Lake
Solon, Iowa
Sunday, August 23, 2015

IMBCS #10 Summerset Shootout
Banner Lakes at Summerset State Park
Carlisle, Iowa
Saturday, September 12, 2015

IMBCS #11 The Mullet Fall Classic
Lake Ahquabi State Park
Indianola, Iowa
Sunday, October 4, 2015

Additional information will continue to be added to the individual race pages.

For the record, this was the previous/original/obsolete numbering:
IMBCS #1 Illiniwek Abermination: Sunday, April 19, 2015
IMBCS #2 Beverly Fat Tire Frenzy: Sunday, May 3, 2015
IMBCS #3 Ewing Park: Saturday, May 23, 2015
IMBCS #4 Seven Oaks: Sunday, May 31, 2015
Possible additional June-ish race, to be announced. (Be prepared for race renumbering.)
IMBCS #5 FORC Side Thrill Ride: Sunday, July 12, 2015
IMBCS #6 Hin und Zurück TT: Saturday, August 8, 2015
IMBCS #7 George Wyth MTB Race: Sunday, August 16, 2015
IMBCS #8 Sugar Bottom Scramble: Sunday, August 23, 2015
IMBCS #9 Summerset Shootout: Saturday, September 12, 2015
IMBCS #10 The Mullet Fall Classic: Sunday, October 4, 2015

One thought on “2015 Iowa Series Dates

  1. Depending on the additional TBA race in June or July, the 2015 schedule meets my goal of rotating in a certain percentage of different venues each season. If we end up with the 11 race season, 4 venues – or 36% of the venues are rotated into the list this year. If the schedule remains as a 10 race season, then 3 venues – or 30% of the venues are rotated into the mix this year.

    Joining us as first time IMBCS race directors are Noel Kehrt for the Beverly Fat Tire Frenzy, Derek Brewer for the Seven Oaks MTB Race, Nathan Cline for the Ewing Park MTB Race, as well as Cheryl Dralle and Rob Cook who team up with me for the Hin und Zurürck TT. We welcome back our seasoned race directors for the 2015 season with the likes of Lee Geisinger for the George Wyth MTB Race, Rick Blackford for the Summerset Shootout, Michael Vittetoe for the Illiniwek Abermination and FORC Side Thrill Ride, Mike Frasier for the Sugar Bottom Scramble, and Bob Matthews who joins me for The Mullet Fall Classic.

    Rotating the venues and race directors helps maintain energy so that race directors and trail organizations don’t get burned out in the process. It will remain a goal of mine moving forward to provide variety for racers in Iowa. We do have more venues available in Iowa (about 25) than we need for a single season, so using some rotation every year (be it 20 – 25% or whatever percentage of the venues) addresses some of the concerns I raise of stressing the race directors, trail organizations, and providing variety for everyone who participates in the IMBCS races.

    The 2015 Season provides a diverse set of races, yet targets our key demographics via the I-80/I-35/I-380 corridors in the Quad Cities, Iowa City, Cedar Rapids, Cedar Falls/Waterloo, Ames, and Des Moines areas.

Comments are closed.